Skip to content

The Old/New Dresser – Complete!

October 16, 2012

Joe’s parents had the most amazing dresser in their storage shed:

Dresser old

I fell in love with it the moment Joe sent me a picture of it. Don’t you just love the details of it? Furniture just isn’t made like this anymore. I have no idea how old it is . . . OLD. But wow–it is still a beauty. The decal, drawer/cabinet configuration, and curvature of the top drawer are absolutely stunning.

Joe’s parents were so nice to let us take it over! So, we hauled it across the country during our move, and I put a new, dark finish on it. What do you think?

Dresser Before and After

And, the side and corner views:

Dresser - Side and Corner Views

Joe told me that he’s planning on keeping this forever. I agree!

 

16 Comments leave one →
  1. Angela permalink
    October 16, 2012 8:22 pm

    It is AWESOME! Why do i picture it as a baby changing table? HMMMM πŸ˜‰

  2. October 16, 2012 8:22 pm

    Yes – you did awesome! This is the stuff like I was talking about at the Estate Sales – although Kenneth went to baseball cards so we have cooled off going to those for awhile – got the bedroom cleaned so we can see the bed again! Sure was nice of Joe’s parents to let you have this for yourselves and you did a beautiful job restoring it! See you don’t even have to participate in “Storage Wars!”
    Did you watch Uncle Donny tonight – poor Susan looked so nervous and Donny was whispering in her ear to encourage and calm her nerves! I did miss watching my usual Detroit Pawn store show tonight however! Talk later – give Mom and Dad my love!

    • October 16, 2012 8:53 pm

      Thanks, Cheryl! You’re sweet! Yes, estate sales and storage sheds are where all the good stuff is found, baseball cards included! I didn’t get a chance to watch it, but I’m looking forward to! Good of you to give up your other show–love those shows. I learn so much on those!

  3. October 16, 2012 8:39 pm

    gorgeous!!!!

  4. October 16, 2012 11:29 pm

    That is a lovely dresser. You are absolutely right that they don’t make furniture like that anymore. Excellent staining job and I love the new hardware as well. I love all my inherited furniture. Sometimes I feel that all my relatives decorated my house but then I get to smile and remember
    fond memories of them each time I look at a chair or a table. πŸ™‚

  5. carol permalink
    October 16, 2012 11:48 pm

    Its beautiful. I love discoveries like that. It reminds me of a similar one my Grandma had. You did a great job. Love from Carol Down Under xxx

  6. Debi permalink
    October 17, 2012 6:27 am

    This is beautiful! Not only the dresser, but the finishing job you did on it turn out beautifully! This is a piece to treasure for life. πŸ™‚

  7. Amy permalink
    October 17, 2012 9:32 am

    Beautiful!

  8. Greg permalink
    October 17, 2012 12:15 pm

    Cool. It looks great.

  9. October 18, 2012 10:08 am

    Now you need to share the step by step process on how you created the beautiful dresser!!

  10. Pat Barge permalink
    October 18, 2012 2:14 pm

    Not enough superlatives in the thesaurus!! Thorough perfection! This history major would love to hear the tales that that precious piece of furniture could tell from its many decades. Thanks for the post! Pat

  11. October 23, 2012 9:16 am

    Beautifully done.

  12. January 21, 2013 8:48 pm

    I am really glad to see you stained it instead of painting it. I cringe when someone paints wood! I have one for my dining room that needs a good treatment. It doesn’t look shellacked – how did you make it shine? BTW – I’m forwarding your two recipes above to friends – the cookies and lasagna – they look good and very easy! I’m gonna try the lasagna soon! Thanks!

Trackbacks

  1. My Homepage

Leave a comment