Skip to content

Just-like-dessert Crunchy Granola

October 9, 2012

Thanks to the sister Sarah for this recipe–simple, sweet, crunchy, toasted granola. I made it to eat for breakfast, but add some vanilla yogurt and fresh berries, and this is dessert!

Granola

 

GRANOLA

8 c rolled oats

1 c wheat germ

½ c coconut

1 ½ cups brown sugar

1/3 cup oil or applesauce

1/3 c water

1/3 c apple juice (from concentrate, thawed)

1 t vanilla

Combine oats, wheat germ, and coconut in a large bowl. Mix sugar, oil, water, apple juice and vanilla together.  Pour over dry ingredients and mix well.  Spread onto a large sheetcake pan. Bake for 30-60 min at 300 degrees until golden brown. Store in an airtight container.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. October 9, 2012 7:27 pm

    It looks yummy and I will defiantely try this one. 🙂

  2. Pat Barge permalink
    October 10, 2012 9:37 am

    Well, Michelle, I’m truly scared. I’m currently working on my THIRD recipe of the Apple Crisp that you and Sarah gave the recipe for. Put lots in the freezer, gave lots to friends and colleagues, and eaten far more than I should ever admit to! DEFINITELY entirely too yummy, and I suspect that this recipe will have the same effect. Halloween scary stuff! 😉 Many hugs, Pat

    • October 10, 2012 1:23 pm

      Pat, your comment made me so happy! So glad you’re enjoying the Apple Crisp! Sarah is one of my best sources for recipes! How did it work in the freezer? Great idea–I hadn’t thought of that! Yep, I’ve already had three large servings of this granola since Monday night. I would have more but I ran out of yogurt! It is a treat!

      • Pat Barge permalink
        October 10, 2012 1:53 pm

        The freezer idea was a success, Michelle! I scooped out single-sized portions of the apple crisp and froze them individually. Smart idea, you say? Yeah, well, now if I can find a way to not eat 3 of them together, I’m doing great! Enjoy this great autumn season with all these great tastes and scents!

  3. October 14, 2012 5:32 am

    Yum! I’ve been needing to find a good granola recipe, so I’m excited to give this a try. Pinning it–thanks, Michelle!

Leave a comment