Skip to content

2013 New Year’s Goals for Procrastinators

January 10, 2013
Goal Setting 2013

Courtesy of STOCK.XCHNG

I hope everyone had a wonderful Christmas and New Year! I know I did–we just got back to Indiana from a Utah-, fun-, and family-filled season! So, I’m getting to my New Year’s resolutions a little late this year. For those of you who are equally behind in life, this post is for you!

Every New Year’s, I’m reminded of this scripture: Luke 2:52.

“And Jesus increased in wisdom and stature, and in favour with God and man.”

What better example? He focused on four areas:

  • Mental – “wisdom”
  • Physical – “stature”
  • Spiritual – “in favour with God”
  • Social – “in favour with . . . man”

Choose goals that follow the SMART model and are:

S – Specific

M – Measurable

A – Attainable

R – Realistic

T – Timely

So, if you haven’t mapped out your plan to make 2013 your best year yet, I hope you’ll consider this simple model. 

2013 New Year's Goals

What are you doing this year?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Pat Barge permalink
    January 11, 2013 8:08 am

    YAY! You’re back!!!!! So terrific to hear from you and good to know that things are “pretty well” with your family. God’s speed to your parents! For my 2013 resolution(s), I find that I am struggling in all 4 of “Luke’s goals,” which feels like I’m just too far away from who and where I typically am. My goals are to sharpen my usual focus and return to being true and real to my own self and who I have always been. Hugs, Pat

  2. January 11, 2013 12:09 pm

    Glad to know your back. It was so lovely of your Mom to share the photos of your family time together. It looks like a lot of fun was had. There is nothing more important then spending time together with your loved ones. I did the same and we invited a long time family friend for Christmas dinner. It just made it extra special. So far my goals are physical and social. I am 2 months into my walking exercises and have managed to increase it to 3 miles once a day. Last night was 4 miles for the first time. Yay!
    Social is to help some friends and family who are going through health problems. I want to take time out to help them or just be someone they can talk to.
    I find both of these things helps with the spiritual aspect of my life. Giving service to others allows me to pause during the day and be thankful for God’s gifts in my life.

Leave a comment